Wednesday, November 30

Los Angeles Times Book Prize – Science & Technology

2003 Awards, All Book Awards, Book Awards, Book Awards By Year, Los Angeles Times Book Prize, Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology

2003 Los Angeles Times Book Prize – Science & Technology Winner and Nominees

2003 Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology WinnerProtecting America's Health: The FDA, Business, and One Hundred Years of RegulationPhilip J. HiltsEmerging out of Theodore Roosevelt's desire to civilize capitalism, the Food and Drug Administration was created to stop the trade in adulterated meats and quack drugs. This history of the agency takes readers back to its beginnings, and makes startlingly ...Amazon2003 Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology ShortlistMerchants of Immortality: Chasing the Dream of Human Life ExtensionStephen S. HallAmazonThe Beast in the Garden: A Modern Parable of Man and NatureDavid BaronAmazonThe Emperor of Scent: A Story of Perfume, Obsession, and the Last Mystery of the SensesChandler BurrAmazonWings of Madness: Alberto Santos-Dumon...
2017 Awards, All Book Awards, Book Awards, Book Awards By Year, Los Angeles Times Book Prize, Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology

2017 Los Angeles Times Book Prize – Science & Technology Winner and Nominees

2017 Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology WinnerBehave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and WorstRobert M. SapolskyWhy do we do the things we do? Over a decade in the making, this game-changing book is Robert Sapolsky's genre-shattering attempt to answer that question as fully as perhaps only he could, looking at it from every angle. Sapolsky's storytelling concept is ...Amazon2017 Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology ShortlistA Crack in Creation: Gene Editing and the Unthinkable Power to Control EvolutionJennifer A. Doudna & Samuel H. SternbergAmazonLife 3.0: Being Human in the Age of Artificial IntelligenceMax TegmarkAmazonMaking Sense of Science: Separating Substance from SpinCornelia DeanAmazonWhy We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dr...
2016 Awards, All Book Awards, Book Awards, Book Awards By Year, Los Angeles Times Book Prize, Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology

2016 Los Angeles Times Book Prize – Science & Technology Winner and Nominees

2016 Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology WinnerPatient H.M.: A Story of Memory, Madness, and Family SecretsLuke Dittrich“Oliver Sacks meets Stephen King”* in this propulsive, haunting journey into the life of the most studied human research subject of all time, the amnesic known as Patient H.M. For readers of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks comes a story that has much ...Amazon2016 Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology ShortlistGrunt: The Curious Science of Humans at WarMary RoachAmazonI Contain Multitudes: The Microbes Within Us and a Grander View of LifeEd YongAmazonLight: A Radiant History from Creation to the Quantum AgeBruce WatsonAmazonPandemic: Tracking Contagions, from Cholera to Ebola and BeyondSonia ShahAmazon
2015 Awards, All Book Awards, Book Awards, Book Awards By Year, Los Angeles Times Book Prize, Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology

2015 Los Angeles Times Book Prize – Science & Technology Winner and Nominees

2015 Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology WinnerThe Invention of Nature: Alexander von Humboldt’s New WorldAndrea WulfThe acclaimed author of Founding Gardeners reveals the forgotten life of Alexander von Humboldt, the visionary German naturalist whose ideas changed the way we see the natural world—and in the process created modern environmentalism. NATIONAL BEST SELLER O...Amazon2015 Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology ShortlistHow to Clone a Mammoth: The Science of De-ExtinctionBeth ShapiroAmazonMachines of Loving Grace: The Quest for Common Ground Between Humans and RobotsJohn MarkoffAmazonRust: The Longest WarJonathan WaldmanAmazonThe Evil Hours: A Biography of Post-Traumatic Stress DisorderDavid J. MorrisAmazon
2014 Awards, All Book Awards, Book Awards, Book Awards By Year, Los Angeles Times Book Prize, Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology

2014 Los Angeles Times Book Prize – Science & Technology Winner and Nominees

2014 Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology WinnerThe Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural HistoryElizabeth Kolbert"Over the last half billion years, there have been five major mass extinctions, when the diversity of life on Earth suddenly and dramatically contracted. Scientists are currently monitoring the sixth extinction, predicted to be the most devastating since t...Amazon2014 Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology ShortlistCosmigraphics: Picturing Space Through TimeMichael BensonAmazonDataclysm: Who We Are (When We Think No One’s Looking)Christian RudderAmazonMD, Missing Microbes, How the overuse of antibiotics is fueling our modern plaguesMartin J. BlaserAmazonThis Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The ClimateNaomi KleinAmazon
2013 Awards, All Book Awards, Book Awards, Book Awards By Year, Los Angeles Times Book Prize, Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology

2013 Los Angeles Times Book Prize – Science & Technology Winner and Nominees

2013 Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology WinnerCountdown: Our Last, Best Hope for a Future on Earth?,Alan WeismanEvery four days there are a million more people on the planet. More people and fewer resources. In this timely work, Alan Weisman examines how we can shrink our collective human footprint so that we don't stomp any more species - including our own - out of...Amazon2013 Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology ShortlistAnimal Wise: The Thoughts and Emotions of Our Fellow CreaturesVirginia MorellAmazonBrainwashed: The Seductive Appeal of Mindless NeuroscienceSally Satel and Scott O. LilienfeldAmazonScatter, Adapt, and Remember: How Humans Will Survive a Mass ExtinctionAnnalee NewitzAmazonSocial: Why Our Brains are Wired to ConnectMatthew D. LiebermanAmaz...
2012 Awards, All Book Awards, Book Awards, Book Awards By Year, Los Angeles Times Book Prize, Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology

2012 Los Angeles Times Book Prize – Science & Technology Winner and Nominees

2012 Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology WinnerBreasts: A Natural and Unnatural HistoryFlorence WilliamsIn this informative and highly entertaining account, intrepid science reporter Florence Williams sets out to uncover the latest scientific findings from the fields of anthropology, biology, and medicine....Amazon2012 Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology ShortlistQuiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop TalkingSusan CainAmazonThe Signal and the Noise: Why So Many Predictions Fail—but Some Don'tNate SilverAmazonThe Storytelling Animal: How Stories Make Us HumanJonathan GottschallAmazonTuring's Cathedral: The Origins of the Digital UniverseGeorge DysonAmazon
2011 Awards, All Book Awards, Book Awards, Book Awards By Year, Los Angeles Times Book Prize, Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology

2011 Los Angeles Times Book Prize – Science & Technology Winner and Nominees

2011 Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology WinnerGrand Pursuit: The Story of Economic GeniusSylvia NasarTraces how the works of Charles Dickens and Henry Mayhew reflected the poor majority in mid-nineteenth-century London, citing the achievements of such influential figures as John Maynard Keyes, Paul Samuelson, and Amartya Sen....Amazon2011 Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology ShortlistA Hole at the Bottom of the Sea: The Race to Kill the BP Oil GusherJoel AchenbachAmazonBlood Work: A Tale of Medicine and Murder in the Scientific RevolutionHolly TuckerAmazonThe Information: A History, a Theory, a FloodJames GleickAmazonUnnatural Selection: Choosing Boys Over Girls, and the Consequences of a World Full of MenMara HvistendahlAmazon
2010 Awards, All Book Awards, Book Awards, Book Awards By Year, Los Angeles Times Book Prize, Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology

2010 Los Angeles Times Book Prize – Science & Technology Winner and Nominees

2010 Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology WinnerThe Price of Altruism: George Price and the Search for the Origins of KindnessOren HarmanDescribes the intellectual journey of eccentric American genius George Price, who tried to answer the evolutionary riddle of why people are nice, and eventually gave away all his belongings and took his own life in a squatter's flat....Amazon2010 Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology ShortlistMerchants of Doubt: How a Handful of Scientists Obscured the Truth on Issues from Tobacco Smoke to Global WarmingNaomi Oreskes, Erik M. ConwayAmazonRadioactive: Marie & Pierre Curie: A Tale of Love and FalloutLauren RednissAmazonThe Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of CancerSiddhartha MukherjeeAmazonThe Immortal Life of Henrietta Lack...
2009 Awards, All Book Awards, Book Awards, Book Awards By Year, Los Angeles Times Book Prize, Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology

2009 Los Angeles Times Book Prize – Science & Technology Winner and Nominees

2009 Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology WinnerThe Strangest Man: The Hidden Life of Paul Dirac, Quantum GeniusGraham FarmeloA monumental achievement - one of the great scientific biographies.' Michael Frayn The Strangest Man is the Costa Biography Award-winning account of Paul Dirac, the famous physicist sometimes called the British Einstein. He was one of the leading pioneers...Amazon2009 Los Angeles Times Book Prize - Science & Technology ShortlistCatching Fire: How Cooking Made Us HumanRichard WranghamAmazonCold: Adventures in the World's Frozen PlacesBill StreeverAmazonNaming Nature: The Clash Between Instinct and ScienceCarol Kaesuk YoonAmazonThe Day We Found the UniverseMarcia BartusiakAmazon